Simon says “Safe!”


Those magnificent heathens over at SSA have yet another project in the pipeline that I can’t help but adore. In the words of JT Eberhard:

In my capacity as high school organizer with the Secular Student Alliance I have been working for the last several months on a project called Secular Safe Zone.  It’s a means by which teachers can make it apparent that their classroom is a place where equality for non-believers is expected.  It will also identify that teacher as somebody a non-believer can speak to safely if they’re being bullied, considering coming out of the closet, etc.

It is my hope and belief that this program will go a long way toward reducing the higher suicide rate of atheist teens and improving their quality of life.

I am loving this. In any case, there’s been a recent design contest to come up with a logo for Secular Safe Zone. Here is the winner as shown on JT’s blog (linked/quoted above):

Image

I don’t think anyone has mentioned this yet, but all I can think of when I see it is this:

Image

Not that looking like Simon is a bad thing (I love that game, still have mine around somewhere), but I am not sure how I feel about the fonts. I personally have the design pedigree of a demented walrus, so I guess I don’t have a lot of weight to throw around in this department.

Image

I'm going to be snarky anyway. Just how I do.

Anyway, I am incredibly thrilled with the Secular Safe Zone program, and can’t wait to see it take off. Now pardon me while I go dig up my Simon.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

