Oh, Canada…


Earlier today, I was doing my regular browsing of r/hockey over on Reddit when I came across this fairly bizarre video.

Recently, Vancouver Canucks star player Daniel Sedin sustained a fairly serious hit to the head, and is showing concussion-like symptoms.

What is happening in this video is a large-scale prayer rally, pleading for his quick return to health. That part to me doesn’t seem so odd or unique. What does strike me as a little out there is the use of Daniel Sedin’s actual helmet for the event, and the fact that they are in Rogers Arena, the home ice of the Vancouver Canucks. I imagine this is just a tactic to get the locals on board with the movement (a pretty predatory one at that), but the whole thing just strikes as outrageously bizarre, and a tad culty. I will admit that I am quite the hockey fan, regularly contributing on a podcast and such, but this takes it a bit far. Just check out this image from the video:

That is Pastor Louie Giglio of the Passion Movement, who were in Vancouver as part of a world tour. And in his hands is, of course, Daniel Sedin’s helmet.  The reactions over this are very mixed thus far between the comments on the video, the yahoo article, and the reddit post.

I suppose athletes are known for their superstitious ticks, but I guess I was most surprised to see this happen in Canada for a Swedish player. Goes to show that you find this sort of thing everywhere, I suppose.

To end on a lighter note, here is a brilliant commercial from a few years back featuring Daniel Sedin and his brother Henrik:

 

Here’s hoping the doctors have Daniel back in action soon.

About Gordon Maples

Writer of the Misan[trope]y Movie Blog and the (Plot)opsy Podcast. A bad movie expert, if there ever was such a thing. Movie nerd, professional organizer, and political progressive.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh, Canada…

  1. hockeyisgood says:

    I do agree…this is a bit too far. It’s one thing to be hopeful and keep him in your thoughts. However, It’s another thing to go this far.

    Something else to keep in mind is that British Columbia is known to be a highly evangelical area of Canada.

  2. hockeyisgood says:

    This is really too far. I don’t know really how this is being taken by Canucks fans, but I could imagine it’s about 50/50 positive due to the fact that BC has a large evangelical population

Leave a Reply

