Honest Liars and Noble Deceivers


I absolutely adore Orson Welles. I remember coming across the following video many years ago, long before I knew about James Randi and skepticism in general. It was really one of my first exposures to pure skepticism, and I absolutely loved it.

Sure Welles wasn’t perfect, and I certainly wouldn’t see eye to eye with him on religion and belief; but he was quite the film-maker and quite the noble deceiver. His last movie is still one of my favorites from a skeptical point of view: F for Fake. Check it out if you haven’t heard of it, it is quite the interesting quasi-documentary film on con-artists and hoaxers. Here’s the hypnotizing introduction to the film:

Of course, re-finding this video reminded me that James Randi has what looks to be an outstanding documentary in the works about his life and exploits:

I absolutely cannot wait for this film to be completed. James Randi fascinates me, and I just can’t get enough of hearing about his long and storied history.  I had the Amazing opportunity to meet him back in October, and managed to get some video of him at work. Enjoy, and make sure to keep your eyes on the cards…

By the way, that is Bill Nye in there with some commentary. That was a particularly fun night.

About Gordon Maples

Writer of the Misan[trope]y Movie Blog and the (Plot)opsy Podcast. A bad movie expert, if there ever was such a thing. Movie nerd, professional organizer, and political progressive.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Honest Liars and Noble Deceivers

  1. The Wells material is fantastic.

Leave a comment